Friday, May 22, 2009

Dew Haiku

Dawn mist arising
Grass heads sagging heavy dew
Meadowlark sings clear

Labels: , ,

Monday, April 20, 2009

Haiku for Spring Beauties

Tiny white flower
like snow on a sunny day
spring won't be denied

These images were taken on Easter Sunday at Camp Tupper, a park in Marietta, Ohio. The hill in this last image is ceremonial mound called the Quadranaou, built by the Hopewell Indians sometime between 100 B.C and 900 A.D. Growing up in Marietta, we kids in the neighborhood surrounding Camp Tupper called it the turtle mound because it was vaguely turtle shaped. It got the name Camp Tupper during the Civil War when Union soldiers used this park and Sacra Via nearby as camping and parade grounds.

Every April, the spring beauties carpet Camp Tupper—a reminder that spring is here and soon the trees will be full of migrant birds and the air full of their songs.

Labels: , , ,

Friday, December 26, 2008

Boxing Day Haiku

Cold this Boxing Day
Wrapping paper smoke billows
Almond burr oak sky

Labels: ,

Wednesday, November 19, 2008

For A Grackle Eating Dog Food

Black shine yellow eye
Great-tailed grackle eats dog food

Labels: , , ,

Thursday, October 30, 2008

Thinking About Palms

Dusk falling rosy
Bedtime for parrots, monkeys
wind rattles palm fronds.

Labels: , ,

Friday, September 19, 2008

Friday Haiku

Empty granary
alone on the horizon
cliff swallows nested

Labels: , ,

Wednesday, September 10, 2008

September Sky

Looking up I saw
earthy smell of rotting leaves
the September sky

Labels: , ,

Thursday, August 21, 2008

Coneflowers Predawn

Tossed, an afterthought
can of wildflower seeds
now, pink explosion

Petals whirling out
'round bulbous orange nose cone
goldfinches' delight

Labels: , ,

Monday, April 07, 2008

Spring Blue

Sweet blue thrush of spring
Sing turalee turaloo
Ah, no finer thing!

Labels: , ,

Saturday, March 29, 2008

Golden Platte River

Golden river sun
skeins of Morse code writ by birds
dancing cranes cavort

Labels: , ,

Wednesday, November 28, 2007

Night Falls on Bandelier

Canyon shadow climbs
roost call of canyon towhee
somewhere piñon burns

Labels: , ,

Wednesday, November 07, 2007

Hazy Harrier Haiku

Dusk hugs the Bosque
slow glide white rump blurry click
I know who you are

Labels: , ,

Wednesday, October 31, 2007

Halloween Haiku

Cracks in thirsty Earth
each step more precarious
falling screams not heard

Labels: ,

Friday, September 28, 2007

Peru Haiku #1

Caracaras watch
Night like a misty shroud falls
Jungle turns gray black

Labels: , , ,

Thursday, June 14, 2007

Overhead: White Pelicans

Boomerangs of white
Rising arc meets thermal lift
Silent prairie sky


Tuesday, March 20, 2007

Evening Vespers

Gray pressing sunset
cheery orange horizon
robin's vesper hymn


Friday, March 09, 2007


Winter wind-blown weed
rusty wires holding fast
white on rust on blue


Thursday, March 08, 2007

Passageway to Yesterday

Ancient passageway
Stones framing jungle's embrace
The tinamou calls

Labels: ,