Blackbird Trivia You Might Not Know

great blue heron

The blackbird family, Icteridae, includes a variety of species. Which of the following is not a part of this diverse family of birds?

a) Brown-headed cowbird
b) Baltimore oriole
c) European starling
d) Common grackle

Answer: c) European starling. The family Icteridae includes New World blackbirds, orioles, cowbirds, grackles, meadowlarks, the bobolink, and a few other species. Starlings may seem similar to our New World blackbirds, but they actually belong to the family Sturnidae.

next question

Subscribe & Save!

ONE YEAR (6 ISSUES) of Bird Watcher's Digest magazine
GET FREE AND INSTANT ACCESS to our digital edition
SAVE 33% off newsstand prices
PAY ONE LOW PRICE of $19.99!
Scroll Up